I’d like to update our terms of service to add a note about reclaiming old accounts, so we finally have an official policy. In a nutshell:
- If you’ve ever had a paid subscription, we will host your blog indefinitely, even after you cancel. You can always export or delete your data, or resubscribe later and all your data will be there.
- If you’ve never paid and your account has been inactive for one year, we may clear it out so someone else can use the name. You will be notified before this happens.
I say “may” because I think there needs to be some wiggle room for unique situations. There won’t be any automatic deletion of accounts.